Out of the frying pan, into the fire.

 So after enjoying a day of no lessons thanks to a communication mixup with Erasmus back home, I went to my first German lesson today. Which was taught in German. Still trying to weigh the pros and cons of such a decision, I know I definitely ended up copying words down from him to which I don’t know the English alternative. All very well knowing how to spell Friseur before you have to figure out it means hairdresser. On the other hand, what I am learning is sticking, I just have to go through 4 hours of being scared out my wits as a grown man says “Sie haben keine ahnung, was ich versuche zu sagen, nicht wahr? Ja?” and looks to me as if I’m meant to understand. I don’t like feeling as if I’m letting someone down, so each time I have to stare blankly around the room whilst he gabbles away, it makes me panic.

However, thriving under pressure seems to work. Even if now I can’t remember whether to use Kommt or Kommen for my homework answer.

PS. The quote was a google translation, of course.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paola Roldan
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 19:41:38

    Don’t scare me… i want to start learning German myself…. :S

    Reply

  2. catterix
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 19:49:52

    lol Just get someone who will teach it to you in your native/best tongue 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

