Gobble gobble, said the turkey. Omnomnom, went the humans.

The sun and had sunk and mist was everywhere, but the mood was drunk with some spices in the air. Invited we were to enjoy the yank’s living, it was time for my very first Thanksgiving!

I have never known a food coma quite like what took over on the evening of Friday 25th November 2011 as lying in a group on the floor, everyone’s waistbands waited to deflate. In what was possibly one of the most mixed dinner parties I’d ever enjoyed we sat down as a group of British, Americans, Canadian, Australian Czech, Finnish and maybe one or two Germans, given what country we’re in. It is important to note that once again, I did not contribute in the slightest to the festivities, but three turkeys later we were all stuffed and ready to be put in the oven. The high levels of tryptophan found in Turkey attributed to the drowsiness and the great quantities of wine and liqueurs did little to prevent us melting into a bubbly pile of satisfaction on the floor. After all the savaging of the German culture, why not appreciate a little bit of what else being in such a multi-national group has to offer? Next stop… An australian barbecue?

Apologies for not blogging in a while, been a helluva week. More to come soon. Tomorrow I have my first presentation to be done, and of course I am absolutely ready and prepared to blow them all away with an insatiably well organised and researched 20 minutes of information. lol jk, I’m me.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Meeeeeee (byron)
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 00:04:58

    FOOD ENVY!
    Also, i need to book my damn plane ticket so I can come and see you Laurence. E-mail me EXACT details or be online soon! 🙂 xxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

