Ersten Woche zurück!

One week in and I’ve gotten used to the taste of German sausage in my mouth. After a long, long drive to Germany, involving rain, an angry Irish TomTom and lots of Hunger Games, I hit Heidelberg. Unsurprisingly, there’s no Internet. Maintaining a tradition kept since December, I have no Internet whilst at home. I am currently writing this sat in the Brass Monkey pub rather than focus on the Chelsea game playing on the screens. I think you can understand my choice.

However, already this week has presented enough new experiences; living in a great new place has opened up the social door even further, meeting my new housemate originally gripped me with nerves, not knowing who you’re going to be living with for the next few months makes you very self-conscious as to the volume of your secret video collection. As it turns out, Joris is as awesome as any Dutchman can be (a standard which seems to be on the rise), and his roomcrawl (an accommodation bar crawl of sorts) introduced a brand new, shiny, just-out-of-the-pack group of maties that made for a fantastic night out.

Throw in some wunderschon catch up sessions over the odd pint or so. Not to mention showing my parents just what beauty Heidelberg has to offer, and the calm sense of contentment has already arrived. It’s good to be back. And it’s also good to have a kitchen not 10km away.

Leave a Reply

